Brooklyn's Creative Future Needs You!

For over forty years, BRIC has been giving Brooklyn a platform and a gathering place. BRIC’s creative workforce is the lifeblood of our organization and represents a significant segment of Brooklyn’s creative economy. 

Help support our mission to Build Brooklyn’s Creative Future, by donating to the BRIC CREATIVE FUTURE RELIEF FUND.

DONATE TODAY >>

BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival in 2002


2002 BRIC CELEBRATE BROOKLYN! FESTIVAL


Thursday, June 20
DR. JOHN

National treasure trove of New Orleans music history.

Friday, June 21
HAKIM / SHABAZ

"The Lion of Egypt", traditional music pumped up with pop flavor & Indian Qawwali singing.

Saturday, June 22
BUDWEISER LATIN MUSIC SERIES
LUIS VARGAS / COCO MERENSON w/ special guest JOSEITO MATEO

Bachata superstars & "The King of Merengue".

Friday, June 28
SARAH HARMER / LUTHER WRIGHT & THE WRONGS

Canadian singer/songwriter & all-bluegrass re-imagining of Pink Floyd’s The Wall.

Sunday, June 30
KREYOL FESTIVAL
TABOU COMBO / BOUKMAN EKSPERYANS / ZIN /EMELINE MICHEL / 2 SWEET

All-day Kreyol Festival celebrating Haitian Konpa music and culture.

Friday, July 5
LINCOLN CENTER JAZZ ORCHESTRA WITH WYNTON MARSALIS

World-renowned Orchestra led by the incomparable Marsalis.

Saturday, July 6
EVERTON BLENDER / REGGAE COWBOYS

Classic roots reggae meets Country & Western Reggae.

Friday, July 12
YO LA TENGO / EVERTON SYLVESTER

Feedback-driven noise-rock and sweetly melodic pop & sly dub poetry.

Saturday, July 13
AFRICAN FESTIVAL
FEMI KUTI & POSITIVE FORCE / HAKMOUN / ROKIA TRAORÉ / COCO SUKALI / WUNMI

All-day African Festival with artists from Nigeria, Mali and Morocco. The day begins with a traditional African marketplace with food, clothing and crafts.

Thursday, July 18
SPEEDY w/ ALLOY ORCHESTRA / THE LITTLE GRAY BOOK LECTURES

FILM SERIES: Harold Lloyd’s 1928 dramatic silent comedy w/ new music score. Preceding the movie, a series of readings and discussions hosted by John Hodgeman.

Friday, July 19
TALIB KWELI / ZAP MAMA DJ PROJECT

Brooklyn-born positive hip hop rapper & global a capella queens w/ new DJ project.

Saturday, July 20
LAMBCHOP / THE MENDOZA LINE

Alternative- country collective & neo-folk pilgrims.

Thursday, July 25
WALT DISNEY’S FANTASIA / KEEP BANGIN’ (selections)

FILM SERIES: Extravaganza of animation and music. Preceding the movie, Jared Crawford Choclatt will perform a wild percussion free for all.

Friday, July 26
MARK MORRIS DANCE GROUP

Back by popular demand, world-renowned modern dance company.

Saturday, July 27
BROOKLYN PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA

Brooklyn’s own world class orchestra.

Wednesday, July 31
CHOREOGRAPHERS-IN-RESIDENCE

Nicholas Leichter and David Neumann open rehearsal, lecture/demonstration @ The Prospect Park Picnic House.

Thursday, August 1
NORTH BY NORTHWEST / SEX MOB

FILM SERIES: Hitchcock’s 1959 thriller with Cary Grant and Eve Marie Saint. Preceding the film, it’s movie music from A to Z with the hippest band in town.

Friday, August 2
DAVID NEUMANN / nicholasleichterdance

Rising star choreographers Neumann and Leichter join forces to put on an exhilarating duet.

Satuday, August 3
BUDWEISER LATIN MUSIC SERIES
BORICUA FESTIVAL: KEVIN CEBALLO / MANNY OQUENDO & LIBRE / WILLIE VILLEGAS Y ENTRE AMIGOS

All day Boricua Festival ending the night w/salsa sensation.

Thursday, August 8
FILM SERIES
JAILHOUSE ROCK / LOSERS LOUNGE

The story of a young convict inspired by his country singer cellmate to launch a music career when he gets out of the slammer, was the perfect foil for Elvis’ on-screen misbehaving.

Friday, August 9
BUDWEISER LATIN MUSIC SERIES
ELY GUERRA / SI*SÉ / JUMBO

Cutting edge Latin alternative music.

Saturday, August 10
BUDWEISER LATIN MUSIC SERIES
PALLADIUM MAMBO DANCE PARTY: RAY SANTOS ORCHESTRA
featuring CHOCOLATE / NELSON GONZALEZ

The Bandshell transforms itself into NY’s biggest dance floor.

Saturday, August 17
BENEFIT CONCERT
CAPLETON & FRIENDS

The Bandshell goes Caribbean with a late-summer night of smooth island "riddims" in a benefit concert for Celebrate Brooklyn.

Sunday, August 18
SURPRISE SHOW
SURPRISE ARTIST: THE SAW DOCTORS! / GAVIN DEGRAW

The greatest Irish rock band since U2 and the Pouges. Plus rock/soul singer/songwriter Gavin DeGraw!

Saturday & Sunday, August 24 & 25
BENEFIT CONCERT
THE UNLIMITED SUNSHINE TOUR
CAKE / MODEST MOUSE / FLAMING LIPS / DE LA SOUL / KINKY

The summer season wraps up in high style with a show that features a smorgasbord of cult favorites.